

CITY OF HUNTINGTON BEACH PLANNING COMMISSION COMMUNICATION

TO: Planning Commission

FROM: Jennifer Villasenor, Director of Community Development

DATE: January 23, 2025

SUBJECT: PLANNING COMMISSION SENIORITY – ELECTION OF CHAIR AND

VICE CHAIR

Staff is providing you with the following information regarding the pending election of Planning Commission Chair and Vice-Chair, which is based on seniority. According to Section 3 of the Planning Commission By-Laws (attached), seniority is determined by the uninterrupted service date of first attendance at a Planning Commission meeting. If the service date is equal between Commissioners, then the highest vote count of the appointing Council Member is used. Here is the order of seniority for 2025:

Date of First Meeting	Planning Commissioner
January 10, 2023	Rick Wood (Strickland 36,805 votes)
February 11, 2025	Brett Bush (Williams 52,335 votes)
February 11, 2025	Ken Babineau (Twining 43,924 votes)
February 11, 2025	Ben Goldberg (Kennedy 43,319 votes)
February 11, 2025	Brian Thienes (Burns 37,266 votes)
February 11, 2025	Dominic McGee (Van Der Mark 33,833 votes)
January 10, 2023	Tracy Pellman – Chair in 2023 (McKeon 33,455 votes)

If you have any questions, please contact Jill Bos, Deputy Director, at (714) 536-5596 or Ricky Ramos, Planning Manager, at (714) 536-5624.

Attachment: Section 3 of the Planning Commission By-Laws - January 2006

Section 3 of the Planning Commission By-Laws January 2006

Section 3. OFFICERS. The officers of the Planning Commission shall be a Chair and a Vice-Chair who shall be elected by majority vote of the Commission and shall hold office for a period of one year or until their successors is elected. An election of officers shall be held as soon as practical following the first day of January of every year. The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected based on seniority, as follows:

- a. The Commissioner with the most seniority who has not served as Chair, or the Commissioner who served as Chair longest ago if all Commissioners have served as Chair, shall be elected Chair.
- b. The Commissioner with the most seniority who has not served as Vice-Chair, or the Commissioner who served as Vice-Chair longest ago if all Commissioners have served as Vice-Chair, shall be elected Vice-Chair.
- c. Seniority between Commissioners shall be determined by the chronological order of the uninterrupted service date of first attendance of each as a sworn Commissioner at a Planning Commission meeting. If seniority between two or more Commissioners is equal based on the first determination, then seniority between the subject Commissioners shall be based on the highest or higher vote counts of the Commissioners' appointing City Council Members.
- d. Any Commissioner may decline nomination as Chair or Vice-Chair. Such declination shall not alter the selection process for Chair or Vice-Chair among the remaining Commissioners.

The elected Chair and Vice-Chair shall assume office immediately following said election. In the event of a vacancy of the Chair, the Vice-Chair shall serve the balance of the unexpired term of the Chair. In the event of a vacancy of the Vice-Chair, a member of the Commission shall be elected, in accordance with the aforementioned seniority determination, to serve the balance of the unexpired term of the Vice-Chair. No person shall occupy the office of Chair or Vice-Chair for more than two consecutive terms. The Planning Director of the City shall serve as Secretary of the Commission.